Byram Police Department History


Byram Township NJ Police Patch

Chief of Police

 Patrol Division

Detective Bureau

Records Bureau

ATV Unit


Frequently Asked Questions

Our Links

Byram Township Police, NJ Law Enforcement Officer's Memorial Patch


The Byram Township Police Department existed since the 1930's as a part-time police force. On April 7, 1971 the Byram Township Police Department was established as a full time Department with four full time sworn personnel including Eskil S. Danielson who was appointed as the Department's first full time Chief of Police. The newly formed Department then assumed all policing duties for the Township from the New Jersey State Police on April 15, 1971. The Department grew from four full time Officers to ten full time Officers by 1975. Currently the Department has fourteen sworn Officers from a high of fifteen sworn Officers in 2006.

 The Department's second Chief of Police, John M. Gutwerk, was promoted to Chief on December 1, 1993 when Chief Eskil S. Danielson retired after 22 years of service to Byram Township. Chief Gutwerk retired in April 2005 after 31 years of service to Byram Township. The Departmentís third Chief of Police, Raymond F. Rafferty was promoted to Chief of Police on November 1, 2005 and retired in December 2015 after 25 years of service to Byram Township. The Department's current Chief of Police, Peter J. Zabita, was promoted to Chief on February 5, 2016.

 In 1979 the Department established a crime scene investigation unit and the Department's arson investigation unit was also established. Since that time at least two officers have been certified in fire investigations. Those units were followed by an accident reconstruction unit in 1987 which still responds and documents all serious and fatal motor vehicle accidents. The Department began a community policing unit in 1991 and also began teaching the D.A.R.E. (Drug Abuse Resistance Education) program in the Byram Intermediate School that same year. In 2005 the Department was able to establish an ATV Unit with funding provided by the Hudson Farm Foundation. In 2008 the Department had two Officers trained in crisis/hostage negotiations creating a crisis negotiation unit. In 2010 the Department began participating in Operation Take Back collecting unwanted prescription and over the counter medications twice a year in the spring and fall. These medications are then turned over to the Drug Enforcement Administration for environmentally friendly destruction. In 2013 the Department switched from teaching the D.A.R.E. program to the L.E.A.D. program (Law Enforcement Against Drugs) due to changes at the national level affecting the D.A.R.E. programís lesson plans. In 2016 the department established a safe exchange location to provide our residents a safer place for buyers and sellers to complete sales made on Craigslist, ebay or through any other method. Serveral other Department's in the County joined the growing national trend and designated safe exchange locations in thier jurisdictions. In March of 2016 the Department also began its annual Cram the Cruiser food drive collecting food donations for food pantries within Sussex County.

The following is a list of Officers who have honorably served and retired from the Byram Township Police Department:

Chief Eskil S. Danielson                                          1971 through 1993
Lt. Chester F. Olivo Jr.                                            1977 through 1994
P.O. Henry M. Shubert                                            1971 through 1994
P.O. Leon N. Clouse                                                1972 through 1994
Sgt. George E. Schultz Jr.                                     1975 through 2000
Sgt. James C. Godumski                                        1975 through 2000
Sgt. Joseph A. Lamonica                                       1975 through 2001
Beatrice F. Eriksen, clerical worker                  1973 through 2001
P.O. Eric Lefkowitz                                                  1981 through 2004
Chief John M. Gutwerk                                           1974 through 2005
P.O. Phillip DeSmet                                                  1994 through 2006
Det. John M. Hulse                                                   1987 through 2011
Tina Stopa, clerical worker                                   1986 through 2011
Sgt. Greg J. Gamski                                                 1987 through 2012
Det. J. Todd Duffy                                                     1988 through 2012
Chief Raymond F. Rafferty                                     1990 through 2015